FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Deposit and Cancellation

Registration for a circuit means accepting the following terms:

Deposit Payment
Registration and the dates for each tour will be confirmed once the deposit has been paid corresponding to 30% of the total price. This will be reimbursed only under certain conditions. Payment must be received 15 days before trip departure at the latest. This can be done either through our Bolivian bank account or PayPal. 

Cancellation from the client
Cancellation insurance does not exist in Bolivia, and therefore we cannot offer this service. We invite you to check with your own insurance if they can provide this service.

If cancellation occurs 45 days or more before trip start, the deposit will be fully reimbursed (bank fees excluded).

If cancellation occurs at least 30 days before trip start, half of the deposit will be reimbursed(bank fees excluded).

If cancellation occurs 15 days prior to trip start, or if client is a no-show, none of the deposit will be reimbursed.

Cancellation due to natural events

• Prior to trip start
If none of the activities are unable to occur and trip is cancelled 7 days or less from trip start, Moto Trails Bolivia will retain half of the deposit and reimburse all other lost costs (bank fees excluded).

If none of the activities are unable to occur, the agency will provide a second option to the client, with an equivalent number of days. If the client refuses, Moto Trails Bolivia will retain all of the deposits and reimburse all other lost costs (bank fees excluded).

• During the tour
If the circuit is interrupted for cause of natural events, Moto Trails Bolivia will propose an alternative path of the same length than originally planned, all while assuring the safety of the group.

If a client is interrupted during the trip, whether voluntary or not, Moto Trails Bolivia will retain all lost costs.

• Itinerary modifications
In case of accident and/or injury of one or more members of the group (client or guide), Moto Trails Bolivia can decide to change the itinerary if the organization of an emergency evacuation is necessary.

If the weather conditions are found too difficult or carrying ay risk, Moto Trails Bolivia can decide to change the itinerary initially planned.

If the riding experience is found to be insufficient to keep up with the planned route, Moto Trails Bolivia can decide, after a group meeting, to propose a new itinerary.

None of the three modifications explained above call for reimbursement.

• Compensation
In no case is Moto Trails Bolivia to be forced to offer compensation of any nature.

Passports and Visas

A valid passport (6 months minimum) is evidently necessary to enter Bolivia.

La délivrance des visas différe selon les pays. C’est par exemple gratuit pour les français, mais coûte $100 pour les américains… N’hésitez pas à vous renseignr auprès de votre ambassade, ou sur le site http://boliviaweb.com/embassies.htm. Vous pouvez bien entendu nous contacter pour toute question.

Insurance

All participants imperatively need to obtain, before the departure, a personal insurance which can cover the medical costs in Bolivia and potential trip back by plane in case of heavy injury or sickness.

The motorcyclist also needs to obtain, before their departure, their motorcycle license, valid in Bolivia and all other countries we may go through as well as a copy of their insurance and emergency contact sheet. These conditions are mandatory, Moto Trails Bolivia cannot accept clients that do not meet them.

Motorcycle License

A motorcycle license to drive any type of bike is required, without exception.

Health procedures

Certain areas in Bolivia are malaria-ridden. You will be informed if the tour in which you are participating goes through these regions. Consult your doctor for preventive measures against malaria. Vaccination against yellow fever is also strongly recommended.

Elevation can cause different effect depending on the person. There are local medical treatments for altitude sickness, which is rarely worse than mild headaches. If you have any doubts, consult your doctor or contact international vaccination centers.

Upon registration to any tour proposed by Moto Trails Bolivia, the clients will need to detail their specific medical indications (blood type, allergies, previous medical records, etc...).

Climate and Equipment

Climate:
Bolivia is the country of extremes, as much in terms of altitude and temperature. You could for example start at -20°C in the morning, up to 35°C in the jungles during the day.

Equipment:
Participants must have their own personal equipment suited for motorcycle riding, which includes at least: full face helmet (preferably off-road), goggles (both day and night), pants and jacket suited for motorcycle riding, chestguard, kneeguards, motorcycle gloves (both cold and warm). If this cannot be brought, all of it may be bought at La Paz. It is important to note the higher prices of such equipment in Bolivia than in the Western world.

Clothes to be brought along the tour must be adapted to the season and the tour chosen. Genrally speaking, clothes should be waterproof and warm, since most trips go through high elevations (between 3000 and 5000 meters). Clients must also bring a sleeping bag, sunscreen with maximum protection, anti-mosquito cream, and long pants and shirts.

Support Vehicles

One or two support 4x4 vehicles for your safety and comfort:

Safety: The 4x4 will follow the motorcycles, from a maximum of 30 minutes behind. It has all tools and extra pieces to resolve any mechanical problem.
Comfort: The 4x4 will also carry your bags which allows you to ride light while retaining the ability to access your belongings at any time.

Experience

The Moto Trails Bolivia trips are NOT conceived for beginners. The trips go through paved roads and dirt/gravel roads, and an off-road experience is therefore absolutely necessary..

You will need to be able to:

  • Ride standing to pass obstacles
  • Brake and turn on slippery surfaces like mud and gravel
  • Ride on humid surfaces following rain
  • Pass through a river
  • Ride between 6 to 8 hours every day

To note that off-road classes and training stages can be organized for you in France or in the United States.

GPS and guide

GPS: Your Suzuki DR 650 will be equipped with a TRAIL TECH Voyager Pro with a color-coded path to follow. You will also see the position of the other group members on the screen, making it difficult to get lost.

Guide: Maurice will be with you during the duration of the trip. He known all the trails and roads and will know what decisions to make and if a detour is necessary.

Food and Lodging

Moto Trails Bolivia proposes trips with everything included:

Hotels: We will alternate between luxury 5 star hotels and basic lodgings in isolated villages. The rooms are typically doubles, but it may not be surprising to have 3 or 4 person per room if the need arises.

Food: Every meal, as well as snacks, will be provided by Moto Trails Bolivia. Breakfast at the hotel, lunch in local restaurants, and dinner at that night's hotel... You have nothing to worry about!

Phones and Internet

Cellular coverage is very good in Bolivia. We recommend buying a SIM card for only a few Bolivianos to use in your phone. It will allow unlimited calling through Whatsapp and access to internet. It is also possible to use the roaming services of your regular carrier, but that option often ends up being more expensive. There will be wifi in big city hotels.

ANY QUESTIONS?

3 + 12 =

california moto trails usa riding the dunes

9 DAYS

13 DAYS

Utah Lake Powell Tenere 700

20 DAYS

en_USEnglish

FOIRE AUX QUESTIONS

QUESTIONS FREQUENTES

Acomptes et annulation

L’inscription à un circuit vaut acceptation des conditions qui suivent :

Versement d’arrhes
L’inscription et les dates du raid seront confirmées par le versement d’arrhes correspondant à 30% du montant total des prestations. Cette avance n’est remboursable que sous certaines conditions. Le règlement du solde devra se faire au plus tard 15 jours avant le départ du raid. Ces opérations peuvent se faire par virement bancaire sur notre compte domicilé en Bolivie ou via Paypal. 

Annulation du fait du client
Les assurances annulation n’existent pas en Bolivie, nous ne sommes donc pas en mesure de proposer ce service. Nous vous invitons à vous renseigner auprès de votre assureur afin de savoir s’il peut vous fournir cette prestation.

En cas d’annulation au moins 45 jours avant la date de départ du raid, les arrhes, hors frais bancaires, seront intégralement remboursées.

En cas d’annulation au moins 30 jours avant la date de départ du raid, seule la moitié des arrhes, hors frais bancaires, sera remboursée.

En cas d’annulation à moins de 15 jours avant la date de départ du raid ou de non présentation du client au départ, et ce quelle qu’en soit la raison aucune somme ne sera remboursée.

Annulation en cas de force majeure

• Avant le départ
En cas d’empêchement de réalisation de toute activité pour cause de force majeure* et d’annulation du raid sept jours avant la date de départ prévue, Moto Trails Bolivia conservera la moitié des arrhes et remboursera toute autre somme perçue, hors frais bancaires.

En cas d’empêchement de réalisation du circuit initialement prévu pour cause de force majeure*, l’agence sera tenue de proposer au client un parcours équivalent, en nombre de jours, au circuit initial. Si le client refuse cette proposition, Moto Trails Bolivia conservera les arrhes versées et remboursera toute autre somme perçue, hors frais bancaires.

• En cours de circuit
En cas d’interruption du circuit en cours, pour cause de force majeure*, Moto Trails Bolivia proposera un parcours alternatif de même durée que celui initialement prévu tout en veillant à la sécurité du groupe.

En cas d’interruption du circuit du fait volontaire ou involontaire d’un client (abandon, accident, etc.), Moto Trails Bolivia conservera les sommes perçues.

• Modifications de l’itinéraire
En cas d’accident et/ou de blessure de l’un ou de plusieurs des membres du groupe, clients ou guides, Moto Trails Bolivia pourra décider de modifier l’itinéraire initialement prévu si l’organisation d’une évacuation sanitaire l’exige.

En cas de conditions météo difficiles ou qui auraient une incidence sur la sécurité (neige, pluies excessives, etc.) Moto Trails Bolivia pourra décider de modifier l’itinéraire initialement prévu.

Si le niveau de pilotage des participants s’avère insuffisant pour maintenir les rythmes prévus, Moto Trails Bolivia pourra, en concertation avec le groupe, proposer un nouvel itinéraire ou un nouveau découpage du trajet.

Aucune des trois modifications indiquées ci-dessus ne donne droit à remboursement.

• Indemnités
En aucun cas, Moto Trails Bolivia ne saurait être tenue de verser des indemnités de quelque nature que ce soit.

Passport et visas

Un passeport valide (6 mois minimum) est bien entendu nécessaire pour entrer en Bolivie.

La délivrance des visas différe selon les pays. C’est par exemple gratuit pour les français, mais coûte $100 pour les américains… N’hésitez pas à vous renseignr auprès de votre ambassade, ou sur le site http://boliviaweb.com/embassies.htm. Vous pouvez bien entendu nous contacter pour toute question.

Assurance

Tous les participants doivent impérativement souscrire, avant leur départ, à une assurance personnelle qui couvre les frais médicaux en Bolivie et un éventuel rapatriement sanitaire par avion en cas de maladie ou d’accident.

Le motard doit produire avant le départ une copie de son permis de conduire moto, valable en Bolivie et dans les pays traversés, ainsi qu’une copie de son assurance avec le numéro de téléphone du service à contacter en cas d’accident. Ces conditions sont obligatoires, Moto Trails Bolivia ne saurait accepter un client qui ne les respecterait pas.

Permis de conduire

Un permis de conduire les moto de toutes cyclindrées est requis, sans exceptions.

Démarches sanitaires

Certaines zones en Bolivie sont impaludées. Vous serez informé si le raid auquel vous participez traversera une de ces régions ou non. Consultez votre médecin sur la pertinence d’un traitement préventif du paludisme. Le vaccin contre la fièvre jaune est fortement recommandé.

L’altitude, quant à elle, produit des effets différents d’une personne à l’autre. Il existe des médicaments locaux pour le fameux mal d’altitude, qui provoque rarement plus que de simples maux de tête. Cela va très rarement au-delà de l’inconvénient. En cas de doute sur les questions médicales, consultez votre médecin ou prenez contact avec un des centres de vaccination internationale.

Lors de l’inscription à un circuit proposé par Moto Andina les participants devront préciser les indications médicales qui leur sont particulières (groupe sanguin, antécédents médicaux, allergies, particularités alimentaires, etc.).

Climat et équipement

Climat:
La Bolivie est le pays des extrêmes, tant en terme d’altitude que de tmpérature. Vous pourrez donc avoir -20°C le matin  sur le Lipez, avec ensuite 15°C dans la journée, ou carrément 35°C dans la jungle des Yuntas.

Equipement:
Les participants doivent disposer de leur équipement moto personnel qui inclut au minimum : bottes, casque intégral (TT de préférence), lunettes ou masque moto (pour vision de jour et de nuit), veste et pantalon moto, plastron, genouillères et coudières ou cuirasse complète, gants moto pour le froid et pour le chaud. Le cas échéant, l’ensemble de cet équipement peut-être acheté à La Paz. Il faut cependant savoir que les prix des équipements sont plus élevés ici qu’en Europe ou qu’aux Etats-Unis et le choix moindre.

Les vêtements à emporter doivent être adaptés à la saison et au circuit emprunté. Une liste vous sera fournie en fonction du programme choisi. En règle générale, les vêtements doivent être imperméables et surtout chauds, l’ensemble des circuits passant par les hauteurs (entre 3000 et 5000 mètres). Les participants doivent se munir d’un sac de couchage. Une crème solaire à protection maximale, des lunettes de soleil de qualité à pouvoir utiliser avec le casque et un couvre-chef sont indispensables. La plupart des circuits passe par l’altiplano où l’exposition au soleil est forte. Un crème anti-moustique efficace est nécessaire dès que l’on se rend dans les vallées en dessous de 1500 m. Un pantalon et un haut à manches longues demeurent cependant la meilleure protection contre les insectes.

Véhicules d'assistance

Un ou deux véhicules 4×4 pour votre sécurité et votre confort:

Sécurité : Le 4×4 suit les motos et n’est jamais loin derrière (entre 10 et 30 min maximum). Il dispose de tous les outils et pièces de rechange pour intervenir en cas de problème mécanique.
Confort: Le 4×4 transporte vos sacs pour vous permettre de rouler léger tout en ayant la possibilité d’accéder à vos affaires en cas de besoin.

Experience

Les voyages Moto Trails Bolivia ne sont PAS destinés aux débutants. Les tours empruntent des routes bitumées, des pistes en terre, et une expérience en tout-terrain est donc indispensable.

Vous devez être capable de :

  • Rouler debout pour passer des obstacles
  • Freiner et tourner sur des surface glissantes comme du gravier
  • Rouler sur des surfaces humides voire boueuses
  • Traverser une rivière
  • Rouler pendant 6 à 8 heures par jour

A noter que des stages tout-terrain peuvent être organisés pour vous en France ou aux Etats-Unis.

GPS et guide

GPS: Votre Suzuki DR 650 sera équipée d’un GPS Trail tech Voyager Pro avec écran couleur montrant la trace à suivre. De plus, vous verrez également sur l’écran la position des autres pilotes. Impossible de se perdre !

Guide: Maurice sera avec vous pendant le voyage, il connait toutes les pistes et saura prendre des décsions si un détour est nécessaire.

Repas et hébergement

Moto Trails Bolivia propose des voyages tout compris :

Hôtels: Nous alternons des hôtels de luxe 5 étoiles avec des logements de fortune dans les villages reculés. Les chambres sont généralement doubles, mais il peut arriver que l’on soit exceptionnellement 3 ou 4 par chambre pour une nuit.

Repas :  Tous les repas ainsi que les snacks sont pris en charge par Moto Trails Bolivia. Petits-déjeuner pris à l’hôtel, arrêt à midi dans un restaurant local, dîner chez nos hôtes du soir… Vous n’avez à vous soucier de rien !

Téléphone et internet

La couverture cellulaire est très bonne en Bolivie. Nous recommandons donc l’achat pour quelques Bolivianos d’une carte SIM locale à utiliser dans votre téléphone. Cela permet de téléphoner en illimité via Whatsapp ainsi que d’accéder à internet. Il est bien entendu possible d’utiliser le roaming via votre fournisseur d’accès mais cela revient généralement plus cher. Enfin, il y a du wifi dans les hôtels des grandes villes.

DES QUESTIONS ?

13 + 13 =

california moto trails usa riding the dunes

9 JOURS

13 JOURS

Utah Lake Powell Tenere 700

20 JOURS

Utah Lake Powell Tenere 700

MOTO TRAILS USA

fr_FRFrançais